top of page
ceryss5

Digital Logos

I decided it was time to move on with my logo design process by creating some digital logos working from my sketches. I tried to focus on designing several logo variations that would follow the dynamic identity research I had done previously. To do this I focussed on trying out different colours for the fonts that correlated with each colour character. I also experimented with two different palettes, one bold and one pastel. I experimented with a few different fonts and layouts for each variation I created.


The first idea I executed was based on a colour wheel sketch from my digital sketching progress. I think this is an interesting idea and looks quite professional, and I like the way it has the potential for subtle alterations for a dynamic identity through colour and shape. One concern I had with this logo was that it reminded me of a board game logo, and I was worried that the playfulness of the brand might not come through. However, I think the psychology side representing different personality types could be conveyed through this logo design. For example, the 16Personalities follows this circle format comprised of different colours that represent each personality type. I explored some of these circular based designs in the below art board, but I wasn't sure if I liked the aesthetic appearance of these logos.

Another sketch I had done in my initial sketching process was a rainbow format. I really like the way these logos turned out, and I like the idea of having a separate colour palette for each variation corresponding with the colour characters. I explored a few different font effects with this logo. I like the variation where I used the type on path tool to follow the line of the rainbow, but I have a concern that it may look too busy. Another concern i have with this logo is that it may be overly feminine and isolate the male market if I wanted to focus on expanding to a unisex brand later down the line. However, I think it is important in the next stages before making any design decisions to set in stone the target audience for this brand. I may need to do some market research to find out if there is any demand in the male marketplace for a brand like this, as my research thus far suggests there may not be.

I then moved on to developing some other designs I created in my initial sketching stage, using linear circles and squares vertically next to the brand name. I'm not sure how I feel about these variations. I don't love the design of the top two and, again, I feel like the playfulness of the brand may be lost in the bottom two. I also tried out designing some logos using the initials of the brand, but I feel like I don't want to explore this too much further as I think it is important to have the brand name in the logo. I could obviously design the main logo to have the brand name underneath and use 'TCC' as a simplified logo but I'm not sure at this stage. I then tried some more variations with the circles horizontally and the brand name on either side as I liked these sketches in my original planning stage. However, I struggled with finding a font that fit in with the design. I think I could explore these design options more, but something else I thought about was the potential to make these logos fit into the dynamic identity I decided I had wanted to create. I could of course change the font colour to correlate with the different characters, but I don't feel like this is advanced enough to create a strong dynamic identity.

Another idea I began to test was incorporating imagery into the logos to diversify the dynamic sense to the brand. I started off by designing a fire vector for the red character, an amethyst vector for the purple character, and a sunshine vector for the yellow character. As it was a new idea, I stopped at this point to test it out with some of the logo layouts I had created, where each vector would replace one of the Os in the word 'colour'. I think this is an interesting idea that I could develop further, but I would have to make sure each vector resonated with the personality type I create them for. I think thus far they make sense with the definitions I have made for each colour character.


This is as far as I got in this stage of logo development. I think I have some good ideas in these exports, but I need to explore further, potentially looking closer at fonts that I feel would work well with my brand values. I think moving forward, it would be good to get some outside feedback to gain some insight into which logos are working well and which logos maybe aren't receiving good responses.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page