top of page
ceryss5

Emergence Workshop

In this workshop, we looked at different approaches to creative thinking in relation to the first stages of a creative project.


‘Divergent Thinking’ vs ‘Convergent Thinking’


Divergent thinking (‘Cathedral Thinking’)

- Final solution is deferred to the end, there are multiple solutions

- Spontaneous, free flowing manner

- Multiple solutions explored, unexpected connections

- Brainstorming, free writing


Convergent thinking

- Coming up with the single best answer

- Emphasises speed, accuracy, and logic

- Most effective when there is a single existing answer to be found

Emergent logic

- Give up on the illusion of creative control

- Do some work and meaning will come


For my major project, I think I will be using the divergent thinking approach. I am still struggling to come up with a concept that I like, so I need to start forcing myself to work and let the idea come to me.

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page