top of page
ceryss5

Major Project Thoughts

We are at a point where we need to have ideas on what our major project is going to be. I think I have the intent of my project clearly developed; I want to develop my graphic design skills, find an area of design that I excel in to dictate the direction of my career path and to find my own unique style of design.


We had to explain our ideas for major projects in a workshop with Jim and I felt nervous because I didn’t have one, just the intent. I mentioned the idea I had to respond to mini briefs in the style of other graphic designers and pick out what I liked and disliked about each approach to contribute to the creation of my own style. Jim asked what kind of briefs I would want to tackle, and I mentioned branding, and he pointed out to me that branding is very dependent on what the client wants and doesn’t always allow full creative freedom. This is especially concerning considering my main goal for the project was to develop my skills and find out who I am as a designer. I hadn’t considered these things before, but I felt that they were important insights.


Jim suggested to me that I could design a biography so that I could make it more self-focussed. This would reduce the amount of contextual research and allow for more creative play as it would be about me, so I already have most of the knowledge. However, I was confused on how I could make the project work. I liked the idea of making it more self-focussed, but I wasn’t sure that a biography was the best way for me to do this.


0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page