top of page
ceryss5

Research ‘Through’ Design

In Neil’s lecture we learned about how research can inform our creative practice in different ways. There’s ‘research for creative practice’, ‘research behind creative practice’, research through creative practice’ and ‘research in front of creative practice’. I felt that my goals for my major project meant that ‘research through creative practice’ was the most applicable.


Research through design is essentially using tools to develop new skills, developing your creative practice. I chose to do this master’s because I wanted to develop my graphic design skills. I already had a strong foundation from doing A Level Graphics and BA Media production, but I felt like I still had more to explore.


I made some notes on how the concept of ‘research through design’ related to my project:

  • Refining skills that I already have

  • I want to develop a more distinct and unique style of design

  • I could explore existing styles of graphic design

  • Experiment with new styles

  • Try to develop my own approach

  • I could do a collection of mini briefs for 50% of the project (3-6) and then tackle a large brief in my developed style for the other 50%

  • At the end of the year show my development of style throughout the year

  • Final output: a demonstration of development rather than focussing solely on the final brief- maybe a book/portfolio presenting how my graphic design style came to exist

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page